4 Unexpected Foods That Contain Gluten

4 Unexpected Foods That Contain Gluten

Gluten is a protein present in wheat and other related grains. People who have celiac disease must follow a gluten-free diet, although they may also choose to do so out of personal choice. Being gluten-free can make you very particular, particularly if it's a need for you.

These are a few foods that you may not have known included gluten. that are gluten-free. To learn more, proceed to read.

1. Oats

Oats should be generally gluten-free, but some brands actually contain gluten, and this might be as a result of growing the oats close to wheat, barley, or rye, or storing the oats in silos used for other gains. Either of these two reasons can cause oats to be contaminated with gluten, but basically, oats are gluten-free and should mostly be safe for you. You can purchase your oats in health food stores and good supermarkets, and ensure you check the label to be on the safe side.


2. Chewing gum

A nutrition expert Meghan Telpner had this to say: “Some brands of chewing gum use gluten-based powder to keep the gum from sticking to the wrapper”. Not all chewing gums are gluten-free, so it is best you do your research well, probably online, before choosing a gum. You should also check the ingredient list for any mention of wheat, barley, or other grains, to be sure you are on the right path.


3. Baking powders

Baking powders contain an ingredient to help absorb moisture so it doesn’t clump, and some brands use wheat starch as that ingredient. You can opt for gluten-free baking powders like Rumford, Clabber Girl, Featherweight, and Bakewell Cream.


4. Cornbread

Corn happens to be one of the meals suggested for those who opt for gluten-free foods, and because of this, it is easy to think that cornbread is also gluten-free, which is not exactly true. The texture of cornbread is sometimes improved by adding wheat, and this makes it unsafe for those avoiding gluten. To be on the safe side, make your own cornbread at home, where you are sure there are no added wheat to it, or check labels on cornbread before purchasing.

If you are diagnosed with celiac disease of non-celiac gluten sensitivity, you have to pay a closer attention to what you eat and be sure there is no added gluten.


Add Comments